Ryan Thompson is the animal control officer. To contact him please call 207-670-8201.
All dog licenses expire December 31st. All dogs at the age of 6 months or more, by law need to be licensed, on or before January 1st of each year.
The fee for a male or female dog is $11.
The fee for a spayed or neutered dog is $6.
To license a dog, the owner must provide:
A current rabies certificate.
Proof and/or a certificate if spayed or neutered.
If moving from another town/city in Maine, bring in current license and a new license will be issued. The cost is $2.
Licenses are available for renewals and new for the next year on or about October 15th. If dogs are not registered by January 31st of each year, there is a state mandated fee of an additional $25 per dog.
1st Time Licensing
If you are licensing your dog for the 1st time in Maine:
You must have a current rabies vaccination certification issued by a Maine licensed veterinarian.
You must have an accurate description of your dog, including your dog’s name, breed, sex and color.
You must have a written statement from your veterinarian that clearly states your dog is altered and/or sterile to qualify for the low cost altered license fee.